Holsworthy Community College

Educating our future

Background Slideshow

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Twitter

Follow Us on Twitter
Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Facebook

Follow Us on Facebook

Log In

Log in

Presentation Evening

Mrs Willliams, Head of School
In this week's edition, my article is dedicated to our ex-students and how hard they worked. We celebrated their achievements during Presentation Evening and I wanted to share with our community those who were chosen to win the awards. As ever, there were many conversations about who should receive the recognition!
Congratulations to all of our ex-students and we hope that their post 16 journey is going according to plan.
My thanks goes to Dr Michael Forster, son of our long standing teacher and leader, Geoff Forster, who gave our keynote speech as Guest of Honour. It is always a delight to welcome members of our community to share their experiences during this evening. We are also very fortunate to be supported by many local dignitaries: Councillor Barry Parsons; Mayor Jon Hutchins; Deputy Mayor Colin Punter; Mr Peter Bumby; Mr R Young; Mr C Vickery, President of Rotary Club; Mr P Brown, Holsworthy Lions and Mr Dave Fitzsimmons.
I am very grateful to Mrs Abbott and Mrs Brimacombe for their support and time in leading up to the Presentation Evening. A great deal of preparation takes place. Also, thank you to Mrs Kiff, Mrs Bottrell and Mr Lau for all of their help.
My biggest thanks goes to parents of our past and present students. Your time, effort and support is always very much appreciated. Together, we are all stronger, as we strive to do the best job that we can, to inspire our young people to aim high and work as hard as they can to reach their potential. Thank you.
Anne Betts' Award (Health and Social Care) - Mia Johns; Art Award - Grace Ross; Bumby Family Award (DT and Science) - Heidi Horn; Computing Award – Linus Carey; David Fitzsimmons Award (Co-operative Values) - Millie Moores and Kieran Fraser; Geography Award- Lucy Poole; History Award - Kayleigh Tyler; Holsworthy Lions (Service to community) - Zak Loader; Honora Broad Prize (Attendance) - Charlotte Prime; Jean Pitt Award (English) – Shannon Sutton-Watson; Maths Award - Berin Howard; MFL Award - Mae Hughes; PE Award - Kieran Langman; Principle's Prize - Charlotte Prime; Principle's Prize Runner-Up - Linus Carey; RE after school Award – Joseph Meredith; Rotary Award (Service above self) - Olti Arriku; Science Award - Hattie Oliver; Spirit of Devon Award – William Bromell; Music Award - Shannon Richards; Technology Award - Stuart Martin; Woodward Progress Prize - Holly Martin.
Photo courtesy of Dawn Bewes